探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

克莱尔谷:澳大利亚雷司令葡萄酒圣地

 

 

aus_clarevalley-small

大利亚主要以色拉子葡萄酒(shiraz)而著称,但是,该国也还是为数不多,名声在外,限定味觉葡萄酒产地的故乡。克莱尔谷也许是这些产地中最著名的一个,它酿造出世界级的雷司令葡萄酒。尽管该葡萄酒产地仍然偶尔白天骄阳似火,但是,由于海拔高,因此,晚间就凉爽宜人,而且整体气候更温和一些,这两个因素都适合雷司令葡萄的茂盛生长。

克莱尔谷具有大约40个葡萄酒庄,所酿造的葡萄酒不到该国的2%----但是,其葡萄酒所获得的奖项却几乎占了全国葡萄酒所获得奖项的10%,这就足以证明其所酿造的葡萄酒具有高标准和高品质。

该葡萄酒产地是品鉴葡萄酒的极佳之地,大多数酒庄都有葡萄酒品鉴室(或者实行开放酒窖政策)。而且,它还是一个相对集中的葡萄酒产地,因此,安排一天时间品鉴葡萄酒的行程就很容易办到。狭窄的品鉴葡萄酒长廊由北向南延伸开去,主要的葡萄酒庄都位于这条40公里长地带的沿线上。小城镇之间相隔也不到几公里的距离,每个小城镇里都有一些葡萄酒庄和良好的用餐之处。

在过去的几年时间里,克莱尔谷具有地域特色的餐饮场所百花齐放,集中精力放于讲究美食和工匠设计的餐馆方面,重点强调地域风味特色和使用当地的食材。在餐馆的葡萄酒单上可以找到澳大利亚各地出产的葡萄酒(当然也可以找到国外出产的葡萄酒),但是,大多数餐馆还专门提供克莱谷所出产的各种葡萄酒,外出用膳就是体验选择该产地葡萄酒的上佳方式。

这里一年四季都举办很多与葡萄酒相关的节日活动,最著名的就是伯拉城遗产一卡通(the Burra Heritage Passport)。该节日活动以小城镇伯拉(Burra)为中心,节日的主题就是人们沿着一条11公里长的遗产小径进行具有历史意义的漫步行走。一卡通附带有一本指南,告诉游客如何步行穿过该葡萄酒产地具有历史意义的建筑物,同时游客在沿途还可以在当地的各个葡萄酒庄做短暂的停留。

克莱尔谷所产的雷司令葡萄酒是世界上最好之列的产品。所产的葡萄酒,起初口感淡雅,略带轻微芳香,这正是雷司令葡萄酒所著名的地方。随着时间的推移,它就会发展成独具特色的葡萄酒----最显著的地方就是,它具有克莱尔谷雷司令葡萄酒独特的源于橡木桶气味的特点。该葡萄酒的酒体结构厚实,如果陈放10年或者更长时间,其受益非浅,因此,它们常常成为深受人们欢迎用于收藏的葡萄酒。

 

(版权声明:转载时请以超链接形式标明文章原始出处:http://www.chichaku.com)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Clare Valley: Australia's riesling wonderland

 

 

aus_clarevalley-small

Australia may be known primarily for its shiraz, but the country is home to a small handful of regions that reach outside that limited palate. Clare Valley is perhaps the best known of these, producing world class rieslings. Although the region still has scorching hot days on occasion, its high elevation allows for much cooler nights, and a more moderately temperate overall climate, both of which allow riesling to flourish. 

 

Clare Valley is home to only around 40 wineries, and produces less than 2% of the wine in the country – but wins close to 10% of the overall awards for the nation, a testament to the high standards and level of quality.

 

The region is excellent for tasting, with most wineries having tasting rooms (or open cellar policies). It is also a relatively-dense region, making a day of tasting much easier. The narrow corridor of tasting runs north to south, and the bulk of the wineries are located along this 40km strip. Towns are rarely more than a few kilometers apart, with each home to an assortment of wineries and fine dining establishments.

 

The local food scene has blossomed in Clare Valley over the past few years, with gourmet, artisanal restaurants that put a heavy focus on local flavors and ingredients. Wines from around Australia (and beyond) can be found on their wine lists, but most restaurants specialize in the wares of the Clare Valley, making dining out an excellent way to experience the best of the region’s wine selection.

 

There are a number of wine-related events throughout the year, but the best known is the Burra Heritage Passport. Centered on the small township of Burra, the festival is a historic meander over an 11km heritage trail. The passport comes with a guidebook that walks visitors through the historic buildings of the region, and visitors can stop in at local wineries along the way.

 

The riesling of Clare Valley is some of the best in the world. It starts out in a lean style, with only mild touches of the aromatic notes riesling is known for. Over time it develops into a creature all its own – most notably with a toasty characteristic unique to Clare Valley riesling. The wines are solid wines, which greatly benefit from being laid down for 10 years or more, and as a result they are popular collectible wines.