探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

啤酒出售前的灌装工作

 

Beer Brewing Packaging1 small

灌装线快速地移动,每分钟可灌装数十瓶啤酒。这是多伦多 Steam Whistle 酿酒厂的灌装线,每小时可装罐5万多瓶啤酒!

作者: Stephen Beaumont

 

酒有三种典型包装:瓶装、罐装和桶装。啤酒在瓶装、罐装或桶装时,都会进行巴氏杀菌以便贮藏,或者进行过滤以确保啤酒的清澈和稳定。有的瓶装啤酒中仍然含有少许的酵母,有的啤酒会在瓶中或是桶内进行发酵,这些啤酒就是所谓的生啤。


在所有的程序中,过滤通常是第一步,即使是准备重新发酵的啤酒,酿酒人通常也会向其中添加新的酵母,因此要进行过滤。(有的瓶装啤酒不进行过滤,而是进行“净化”,在这个过程中,酿酒人会向啤酒中加入多种有机或矿物“净化介质”,例如云母、爱尔兰藓或明胶,以将酵母沉入发酵容器底部。)对于酿酒人来说,过滤啤酒时最关键的是保持纯净,同时又不影响啤酒的风味。因为过滤太过严密会使啤酒丧失味道,而过滤太过粗糙会使得啤酒显得浑浊。

啤酒在过滤之后就可进行灌装,以罐装、瓶装或桶装的形式出售,或者在灌装前先进行加热巴氏杀菌。有些酿酒专家认为,对啤酒进行巴氏杀菌必不可少,这样能保证啤酒贮存时的稳定性,让啤酒拥有较长的保质期。但有的专家认为巴氏杀菌会破坏啤酒的品质和口味,而且如果啤酒的过滤及处理得当,就没必要进行杀菌。

 

 

Beer Brewing Packaging2 small

多伦多 Steam Whistle 酿酒厂的啤酒桶

瓶装发酵的啤酒,顾名思义,就是啤酒最后在瓶中进行轻发酵。这种啤酒通常不会进行巴氏杀菌,虽然理论上巴氏杀菌可行。为了进行瓶装发酵,酿酒人会在灌装前向啤酒加入糖或鲜麦芽汁,然后加入特定分量的活酵母,以分解啤酒中的糖。酿酒人需要仔细进行这一步骤,因为糖加的不足会导致啤酒的起沫效果不够理想,糖加的太多就会导致瓶中的二氧化碳太多,瓶子可能会爆炸。


Beer Brewing Packaging3 small

密尔沃基市 Sprecher 酿酒厂的灌装线是美国规模最大的灌装线之一。

桶内发酵在桶内进行,之后产出的啤酒便是所谓的散装鲜啤酒。在这一过程中,酿酒人将少量的酵母和未过滤的啤酒加入桶中,啤酒便会进行最后的发酵,然后起沫。在酒吧或饭店,如果想要供应这种啤酒,员工需要掌握这方面的专业技巧,因为想要倒出一杯口味绝佳的啤酒,需要处理好等待时间,开桶和啤酒的管理工作。虽然桶内发酵的啤酒在全世界越来越受欢迎,选用这种发酵方式的依然大多数在英国。

 

 

相关阅读:

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Getting the beer ready for sale

 

Beer Brewing Packaging1 small

Bottling lines tend to move very quickly, producing dozens of filled bottles per minute, as at this line at Steam Whistle Brewing in Toronto, or even up to 50,000 or more per hour!

By: Stephen Beaumont

 

Typically, beer is packaged in either a bottle, can or keg. In any of these three formats, it can be pasteurized for preservation, or filtered for clarity and stability, bottled unfiltered with small amounts of yeast still in solution or bottle-fermented or cask-conditioned, and sometimes keg-fermented, for what is sometimes known as “live” beer.

 

Filtration will be the first step in almost all of these processes, since even beer intended for refermentation will generally have new yeast added to it. (Beer intended to be bottled unfiltered will be first “fined” rather than filtered, a process during which the yeast is drawn to the bottom of the fermenter by various added organic or mineral “fining agents,” such as isinglass, Irish moss or gelatin.) The key for the brewer is to filter for clarity without sacrificing flavour, since too tight a filtration will literally squeeze the taste out of a beer while too coarse a filter will result in a beer that pours hazy in the glass.

 

Beer Brewing Packaging2 small

Filling kegs at Steam Whistle Brewing in Toronto

Following filtration, a beer can be packaged and sent out for sale in the can, bottle or keg, or heat-pasteurized prior to release. Some brewing experts will argue that pasteurization is essential for a beer to have shelf-stability and a long life, while others insist that it knocks the character and taste out of a beer and is unnecessary if the beer has been properly filtered and treated. 

 

Bottle-fermented beers, in which the beer undergoes a final light fermentation in the bottle, are generally not pasteurized, although pasteurization could in theory co-exist with bottle-fermentation. In order to ferment a beer in the bottle, a brewer will mix either sugar or fresh wort into the finisher brew prior to bottling, and then add a carefully measured amount of live yeast to consume the new sugars in the bottle. This process calls for great care, since not enough added sugar will result in a beer that pours flatter than intended while too much sugars could result in enough carbon dioxide that the bottle would be at risk of exploding.


Beer Brewing Packaging3 small

The bottling line at Sprecher Brewing in Milwaukee must be one of the most atmopsheric in the United States.

A process known as cask-conditioning may also be used in place of kegging, producing a beer sometimes known as real ale. For this, small amounts of yeast and unfermented beer will be added to the cask and the final fermentation of the beer will take place in the barrel from which it will be poured. The managing of such beers requires expertise on the part of the staff of the bar or restaurant where it will be served, since proper waiting time, venting of the cask and management of the beer is necessary to the creation of a perfect glass of beer. While growing in popularity throughout the world, cask-conditioning is still mainly practiced in the United Kingdom.

 

 

See also: