探索世界的奇酷

简体中文
 

哈利法克斯 - 小城市,大胸怀

Theodore_Tugboat_and_Georges_Island
农贸市场的新鲜糕点
01/12 
start stop bwd fwd

 

 

作者: Sandra Phinney

 

里拥有城市的一切,且独具特色。

 

哈利法克斯是一个充满了历史味道的海港,这里的驻扎机构不计其数,活动丰富多彩;北美第一古港的称号它当之无愧。它拥有传统,同时也充满了现代、时尚和精致。作为东道主,赫乐格人(Halegonians,对哈利法克斯居民的专用称呼)无比热情,却是朴实无华。。。这正是它的魅力之一。

 

在城市的天际线,18、19世纪的建筑摩肩接踵,玻璃和钢铁趣味相投。哈利法克斯作为世界第二大天然良港,忙碌的海滨时刻都有世界各地的船只前来停靠。

 

从1928年到1971年,超过150万移民——避难者、军队、难民、战时新娘及其孩子——在城市北端的21号码头(Pier 21)下船,来到了这里开始新生活。如今,21号码头已成为一处国家历史遗址和游览这个城市的最佳起点。历史在这里的展览绝对一流。我总要去观赏的是一部屡获殊荣的24分钟电影《海洋的希望》。虽然我已观看了好几次,但从来没有厌倦过。21号码头也非常适合小朋友游玩;孩子们可以得到自己的护照,在不同的陈列厅里盖章。

 

哈利法克斯海港农贸市场(Halifax Seaport Farmers’ Market)离21号码头不远,是一个地方我最喜欢闲逛的地方。作为北美最古老的农贸市场,这里的环境显得十分友好,并拥有大西洋岸边最大,种满植物的绿色屋顶。当地的美味佳肴和独特的艺术与工艺给我带来了连连惊喜。另外,这里的小贩总愿意开怀畅谈自己的产品和工作。

 

走出市场,您会看到右边有一个木栈道。它沿着海港蜿蜒前行,一直延伸到了市中心。沿木板路往北行几个街区,就会来到一个叫“主教码头(Bishop’s Landing)”的地方,海滨布满了独特的精品店和美食餐馆。我特别喜欢朗姆酒走私客朗姆酒蛋糕厂(Rum Runners Rum Cake Factory)。这里的工作人员常爱讲述朗姆酒走私在20世纪二、三十年代的故事,那时它是哈利法克斯的一个重要行业。(警告:这里的朗姆酒蛋糕会让人上瘾。)

 

附近坐落着大西洋海洋博物馆(Maritime Museum of the Atlantic)。它的展品美得让人惊刹,还包括有世界上收藏最好的泰坦尼克号文物,以及给人以启迪的哈利法克斯大爆炸展览。

 

哈利法克斯还有一些非常有趣但缺少宣传的好去处,如坐落在古老的维多利亚式建筑内(Brunswick Street 1528号)的哈利法克斯民俗中心(Halifax Folklore Center),它就是一个不同寻常的音乐商店。复古式吉他、小提琴和旁边的新旧乐器混杂摆在货架上,还有众多的凯尔特和加拿大东岸音乐书籍供您选择。即使仅为了享受员工的讲解、感受这些乐器所酿造的气氛,这里都值得您前来。如果带有孩子,您还可以给他们欣赏各种儿童乐器:发音器、摇铃和卡祖笛。(如果您像我一样是个大顽童,还可以买下卡祖笛作为收藏!)

 

哈利法克斯也是新斯科舍省美术馆(Art Gallery of Nova Scotia)的所在地,被亲切地称为“无限潜力的小画廊”。这里经常展出一些优秀的国际巡回展品,以及精美绝伦的永久收藏品;不要忘记这里就是新斯科舍省著名民间艺术家莫德•刘易斯(Maud Lewis)的故乡。

 

想找寻刺激,冲浪是一种最棒的选择。离哈利法克斯市中心仅30分钟的劳伦斯镇海滩(Lawrencetown Beach)会给你一个惊喜,那里有巨大的海浪和年轻而充满活力的海滩。去到那里,您很可能会遇到朱莉•鲍德温(Julie Baldwin),她是加拿大国家冲浪队的成员,曾参加过世界冲浪大赛。“与世界上其他海岸线相比,新斯科舍省的比较朴素——就像一颗未经雕琢的钻石。”朱莉说。“这里也有点变化无常,但当风急浪高时,在这里冲浪真的激情无限。”(您能租借到相关装备,还可以参加东海岸冲浪学校East Coast Surf School. 的冲浪课程。)

 

对于食物,我一直觉得难以取舍;哈利法克斯拥有各种餐馆和美食,从街头小吃到正式餐厅一应俱全。其中最新开业的是倔强山羊美食屋(Stubborn Goat Gastropub)。这里的菜是即煮即上的,不会等到每个同桌客人的菜准备好才上,但到处都能听到人们不断发出的啧啧声。这里的解馋美食包括獅子唐辛子(Shishito Peppers)、奶酪蘑菇豬肉卷(Queseda Fondito)以及非同寻常的龙虾浓汤(Lobster Bisque)。

 

在哈利法克斯对岸的达特茅斯(Dartmouth),花蜜餐厅&酒吧(Nectar Restaurant & Wine Bar)连续五年捧走了《海岸杂志》(Coast Magazine)的2013最佳达特茅斯餐厅美食奖。周末早午餐(大力推荐他们的薄饼!)非常受欢迎。而对于炸鱼和薯条,我最爱前往的地方是约翰餐馆(John’s Lunch),它也在达特茅斯。前任总督阿德里安娜•克拉克森、作家约翰•拉尔森顿•索罗、音乐家乔尔•普拉斯基特、演员罗伯•劳以及《宅男们》的演员都曾在这里用餐。这个地方就是一个传奇。

 

离开这片热土前,你一定要抽时间在水面上玩一圈。墨菲渔船码头(Murphy’s Cable Wharf)为客人准备了多种选择:晚餐巡游、深海捕鱼、或乘坐高桅横帆船游玩。若是一家人出行,还可以坐客轮前往麦克纳布岛(McNab’s Island),或登上按照电视剧《西奥多拖船》全尺寸仿造的西奥多船(Theodore Too)。喜欢非传统的旅游体验?那可尝试一下水陆两栖车(Harbour Hopper),这种全能的“家伙”可带您上地下水,欣赏到满眼的美景。

 

品尝海风中的咸涩,与大地母亲这个特别的地方相拥相恋——这才最为重要。

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English
 

Halifax: small city, big heart

Theodore_Tugboat_and_Georges_Island
Fruition at the Farmer's Market
01/12 
start stop bwd fwd

 

 

By Sandra Phinney

 

This city has it all—and then some.

 

A historical seaport where you can smell the past, Halifax is home to institutions and events that can rightfully lay claim to be the first (and oldest) in North America. Although steeped in tradition, the city is also modern, hip, and savvy. Halegonians (the proper name for residents of Halifax) are superb hosts and hostesses, yet they are singularly unpretentious. This is one of the many charms of the place.

 

The city’s skyline is an interesting mix of 18th and 19th century architecture rubbing shoulders with towers of glass and steel. Situated on the world’s second largest natural harbor, the waterfront bustles with activity as vessels from all over the world make Halifax a port of call.

 

From 1928 to 1971, over 1.5 million immigrants—evacuees, troops, refugees, war brides and their children—started new lives here when they disembarked at Pier 21 in the north end of the city. Today, Pier 21 is a National Historic Site and a great place to start your own journey. The exhibits are superb. One place I always return to is the award-winning 24 minute movie titled “Ocean of Hope.” Although I’ve seen it several times, I never tire of the production. Pier 21 is very kid-friendly; children can get their own passport and have it stamped at various exhibits.

  

Adjacent to Pier 21 is one of my all-time favourite places to hang out—the Halifax Seaport Farmers’ Market. The oldest continuously operating farmers’ market in North America, it’s environment-friendly, and features one of the largest green roofs on this side of the Atlantic. The selection of culinary delights, local food products, and unique arts and crafts never cease to amaze me. Bonus: the vendors are always happy to chat about their products and what they do.

 

As soon as you come out of the market, you’ll see a boardwalk to your right. It follows the curve of the harbour the length of the downtown core. A few blocks north on the boardwalk is a complex called Bishop’s Landing consisting of unique boutiques and great places to eat, all on the waterfront. I’m especially fond of the Rum Runners Rum Cake Factory. Staff here love to tell the story of how rum running was a major industry in Halifax during the 1920’s and 1930’s. (Warning: the rum cake here can be addictive.)

 

Close by is the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic. The exhibits are stunning, and include the world’s finest collection of artifacts from the Titanic, and inspiring displays from the Halifax explosion.

 

Throughout Halifax, there are a number of intriguing, less-publicized shops that are part of the fabric of the city, such as the Halifax Folklore Center, an unusual music shop housed in an old Victorian home (1528 Brunswick Street). Vintage guitars and violins share shelf space alongside a melange of new and used musical instruments, and a robust selection of Celtic and Maritime music books. It’s worth dropping in, if only to enjoy the ramblings of the staff and to feel the vibes from the instruments. If you have kids with you, ask to see the special selection of kid-sized instruments, noisemakers, shakers and kazoos. (And, if you’re a big kid like me, you’ll want to add to your collection of kazoos!)

 

Halifax is also home to the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, affectionately known as “the little gallery that could.” International caliber shows are always on display here, as well as impressive permanent collections, including the actual home of Nova Scotia’s famous folk artist, Maud Lewis.

 

For a walk on the wild side, consider surfing. It may come as a surprise that Lawrencetown Beach—only 30 minutes from downtown Halifax—has great surf, and a young, active beach community. If you go, you’ll likely run into Julie Baldwin, member of the Canadian National Surfing Team and competitor in the World Surfing Games. “Compared to other coastlines in the world, Nova Scotia is a little more rugged—like a diamond in the rough,” says Julie. “It’s also a little fickle, but when the surf turns on, it can fire!” (You can rent gear and/or sign up for surfing lessons from East Coast Surf School.)

 

For food I’ve always felt spoiled for choice as Halifax has every kind of eatery and food establishment imaginable, from food trucks to fine dining. One of the newest kids on the block is the Stubborn Goat Gastropub. Don’t expect everyone at your table to be served at the same time (food comes as soon as it’s ready)—but do expect to say “wow” a lot. Popular items include Shishito Peppers, Queseda Fondito, and an unusual Lobster Bisque.

 

Over in Dartmouth, Nectar Restaurant & Wine Bar waltzed away with the Coast Magazine’s 2013 Best Dartmouth Restaurant Food award for the fifth year hand-running. Weekend brunches (oh those crepes!) are hugely popular. And for an amazing feed of Fish & Chips, the place I head to is John’s Lunch, also in Dartmouth. Folks like former Governor General Adrienne Clarkson, author John Ralston Saul, musician Joel Plaskett, actor Rob Lowe, and the cast from the Trailer Park Boys—have all eaten here. The place is legendary.

 

Before you bid farewell to the region, try and budget some time to spend on the water. At Murphy’s Cable Wharf downtown, there are many choices from dinner cruises to deep sea fishing and a sail on a tall ship. Families can also take a short ferry ride to McNab’s Island, or climb aboard Theodore Too, a full sized replica from the TV series, Theodore Tugboat. For something a little whacky, try the Harbour Hopper, an amphibious “thing” that will take you on a wee journey by land and water. Regardless of your choice, you’ll get a panoramic view.

 

More important, you’ll taste the salt in the wind, and feel connected to this very special place on the planet.