探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

酒精含量应多高:酒精含量的大辩论

wine5

精是发酵过程的直接产物。葡萄汁中的糖分在发酵过程中转变成了酒精。如果葡萄的糖分含量较高,最后却没有了剩余的糖分,最终的葡萄酒就会比采用较低糖分葡萄汁所酿造的葡萄酒含有较高的酒精。糖分在葡萄成熟的过程中生长发育----较长成熟期的葡萄,在其葡萄汁中就含有较高的糖分(采用布立克斯(brix)方法来测定)。


在法国,德国和奥地利及其一些其它的葡萄酒产区,由于整体气温较低,葡萄收获期较早,糖分就较低,因此,酒精含量也就较低。由于其它一些原因,旧世界的酿酒师们(和旧世界的葡萄酒消费者们)都更喜欢酒精含量低的葡萄酒----因为他们相信这样就可以使风土的成分完美地表现出来,可以使葡萄酒消费者们享用葡萄酒的时间更长一些,而不至于体验舌尖味觉的疲劳。旧世界的一些葡萄酒产区,诸如意大利,西班牙和罗讷河谷(Rhône),由于这些产区气温偏高,因此,更倾向于酿造较高酒精含量的葡萄酒。尽管那里葡萄酒的风格,仍然是传统上更受抑制的低酒精含量葡萄酒的风格之一。

讨论高酒精含量葡萄酒的主要暴发点是在加州。在过去的三十年中,加州葡萄酒的酒精含量一直在逐渐提高,直到现在已经很难再找到酒精含量低于14%的葡萄酒了,中到高酒精含量在15%范围内的葡萄酒已经成为了家常便饭的事情。这事出有几个原因:因为酒精可以增加葡萄酒的酒体,可以帮助使葡萄酒显得更甜,组织结构更好。一些评论家(最著名的是罗伯特.帕克(Robert Parker))也促进了较高酒精含量葡萄酒的销售(特别是在加州),追求较高评分的酿酒师们,逐渐把葡萄酒中酒精含量提高得越来越多了。

气候变化可能也起到了一定的作用,特别是在旧世界葡萄酒产区,诸如波尔多(Bordeaux)尤其如此。随着全球性的气温升高,葡萄酒在藤上自然成熟地更快,最后更容易收获到较高糖分的葡萄。

人们可以听到来自于辩论双方相当激烈的措辞。越来越多的舆论坚决反对更高酒精含量葡萄酒的倾向,并称这些葡萄酒是“便宜货”,是“撇脚货”。酒精是一种微妙的东西,确实应该根据每个人的品味和每种葡萄酒的个性来确定。有酒精含量为13%的葡萄酒,它不平衡,味道感觉“酒精含量过高”,也有酒精含量为15.5%的葡萄酒,它平衡完美无缺,并没有表现出酒精含量过高的味道。根据经验,不能仅凭葡萄酒瓶上的酒精含量度数,就来判断一种葡萄酒的酒精含量,在确定葡萄酒是否酒精含量过高还是不高时,要倾听和相信你自己的味蕾。

 

更多葡萄酒小贴士:

 

(版权声明:转载时请以超链接形式标明文章原始出处:http://www.chichaku.com

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Hot or not: the great alcohol debate

wine5

Alcohol levels in wine are one of the great areas of  debate in the contemporary wine world. To understand why, it’s important to understand what causes alcohol in a wine, and what effect on the final product those levels have.

 

Alcohol is a direct result of the fermentation process. Sugars in the grape juice are converted into alcohol during fermentation. If grapes have higher levels of sugar, and they end up with no sugar remaining, the final wine will have higher levels of alcohol than wines made from lower-sugar juice. Sugar content develops over the course of grape ripening – the longer grapes are allowed to ripen, the higher the sugar levels (measured in brix) found in the juice.


In France, Germany, and Austria – as well as some other regions – overall cooler temperatures and a relatively early harvest result in lower sugar levels, and therefore lower alcohol levels. Old World winemakers (and Old World consumers) tend to prefer low alcohol wines for other reasons – mainly that they believe it allows the elements of terroir to shine through, and allows consumers to enjoy the wine longer without experiencing palate fatigue. Some regions of the Old World – Italy, Spain, and the Rhône, for example – tend towards higher temperatures, and therefore higher alcohol wines. Even there, however, the style has traditionally been one of more restrained, low alcohol wines.


The main flashpoint for the discussion of high alcohol wines has been California. In the past thirty years wines in California have become consistently more alcoholic – to the point where it has become rare to find wines of less than 14% alcohol, and wines in the mid- to high-15% range are commonplace. There are a number of reasons for this: alcohol increases the body of a wine, and can help wines seem sweeter, as well as more textured. Some critics (most notably Robert Parker) have also promoted higher-alcohol wines (especially in California), and winemakers seeking out higher scores have ratcheted their alcohol levels higher and higher.


Climate change may also be playing a role – especially in Old World regions like Bordeaux. As temperatures rise globally, wines naturally ripen more quickly on the vine, making it easier to end up with higher-sugar grapes.


You’re likely to hear strong words on both side of the debate. An increasingly vocal movement is adamantly opposed to the trend towards higher alcohol wines, calling these wines ‘cheap’ and ‘heavy-handed’. Alcohol is a tricky creature, and is really something that should be left up to each individual’s tastes and to each individual wine. There are 13% wines which are unbalanced and taste ‘hot’, and there are 15.5% wines that are perfectly balanced and don’t betray a taste of strong alcohol. As a rule of thumb, avoid judging a wine based on the number on the bottle, and listen instead to your tastebuds when deciding whether the wine is too alcoholic or not.

 

More wine tips: