探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

啤酒风格介绍

 

BB Styles Intro small

现代啤酒的种类正日渐丰富,用来灌装的啤酒瓶也更加漂亮,样式也更多。从这次芝加哥Spiaggia Cafe提供的意大利手工啤酒中可见一斑。

作者: Stephen Beaumont

 

萄酒主要有红白之分,而啤酒则大致可分为爱尔啤酒和窖藏啤酒。


爱尔啤酒的发酵方式为温暖顶层发酵,窖藏啤酒的发酵方式为低温底层发酵(参见酵母—发酵的必备元素)。这只是粗略的分类,其中也会出现重叠的部分,但对于啤酒的初识者而言,这种分类确实简单明了。(酿酒人在低温环境下对爱尔啤酒酵母进行发酵,而这一发酵方式通常是用来发酵贮藏酵母的,这时“重叠的”部分便出现了,反之亦然。)

 

BB Styles Intro2 small

当今啤酒种类包罗万有:(左至右)比利时修道院风格爱尔啤酒、比尔森啤酒、黑啤酒、黄啤和酵母小麦啤酒。

相比窖藏啤酒,爱尔啤酒历史更为久远。酿酒一出现,爱尔啤酒便问世,而窖藏啤酒的历史只有1000到1500年。公元前600-1000年左右,巴伐利亚酿酒人开始将啤酒储存在阿尔卑斯山脚下的冰窖里,窖藏啤酒这才出现。爱尔啤酒品质上更醇,果香更浓,而大多数窖藏啤酒则相对柔和,香味较淡。

 

窖藏啤酒的名字在德语中的意思是储存。窖藏啤酒的发酵时间通常比爱尔啤酒长,窖藏啤酒是4至6周,而爱尔啤酒是2至4周。(有些酿酒厂会加快这一发酵过程,产出的窖藏啤酒也就成了“快发酵”啤酒)。结果窖藏啤酒在口感上变得更为清脆,而这是爱尔啤酒的特征。


除了少数用野生酵母或混合发酵方式发酵的啤酒之外,大多数啤酒可归为爱尔啤酒或窖藏啤酒。

 

相关阅读:

 

 

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Introduction to beer styles

 

BB Styles Intro small

As the modern range of beer styles has grown, so has the variety of sometimes quite beautiful bottles it is packaged in, as seen by this selection of Italian craft beer from Chicago’s Spiaggia Cafe.

By: Stephen Beaumont

 

As red and white are the main families of wine, so are ale and lager the principal families of beer.

 

Commonly differentiated by type of fermentation – warm- and top-fermented for ales; cool- and bottom-fermented for lagers (see What’s in a Beer: Yeast) – they are both generalized and occasionally overlapping families, but do serve as simplified categories for those new to beer. (The “overlapping” part arises when brewers force ale yeasts to ferment in cooler conditions, as would normally be reserved for the working of lager yeasts, and vice versa.)

 

BB Styles Intro2 small

Just a few of the vast number of beer styles widely available today: (l to r) Belgian abbey-style ale, pilsner, porter, brown ale and hefeweizen.

 

Ales are the more ancient of the two families, having been in existence since the dawn of brewing, in comparison with lager’s 1,000 to 1,500 years of understanding, it not having been discovered until Bavarian brewers began storing their beer in ice caves near the foothills of the Alps sometime around 600 to 1,000 A.D.  Ales also tend to be rounder and fruitier in character, as compared to the leaner, more restrained flavours and aromas of most lagers.

 

As one might expect from their name, the word lager originating from a German term meaning “to store,” lagers traditionally require longer periods of conditioning than do ales, normally 4 to 6 weeks rather than ale’s 2 to 4 weeks. (Some breweries, both large and small, have been known to accelerate these periods, so that lagers are “fast-conditioned.”) The result is that even stronger, malty lagers tend towards crisper flavour profiles than would their ale equivalents.


With the exception of certain rare varieties of beer that are fermented by wild yeasts and the handful of styles that employ a hybridized sort of fermentation, all beers fall broadly into the ale or lager family.

 

See also: