探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

啤酒酿造工艺简介

 

BB Brewing Intro 1 small

一般来讲,啤酒在被酿造出来、装瓶之前,酿造厂需要做出几十个生产决策。

作者: Stephen Beaumont

 

备好在啤酒基本原材料提到的各种原料后,啤酒制造商接下来所面临的问题是基本酿造工艺的选择;在开始酿酒的数周或数月前,他们需要做出各种决定——啤酒厂买什么样的设备?如何加热蒸馏釜和糖化桶?还有些是要根据特定配方来进行选择的。


除了前期的一些准备工作外,啤酒酿造厂在拿到配方后还有很多问题需要考虑:在麦芽汁中添加哪些谷物?用什么啤酒花来调配口味?酿造用水从哪里取?准备蒸馏多长时间?酿造出的啤酒最终使用什么样的包装?

 

 
BB Brewing Intro 2 small

现代的酿酒厂有大有小,既有规模不大的手工作坊,也有计算机操控的大型啤酒厂。

另外还有一些更基本的问题:是利用淡色啤酒酵母在较高的温度中进行发酵,还是用储藏啤酒酵母进行低温发酵?啤酒发酵前的糖份有多少?谷物中的糖需要完全被提炼掉,还是麦芽汁中还需要补充一些原糖(这决定着啤酒的浓香度)?是要酿造清爽型的还是浓香型的?口味要清淡的还是浓烈的?

在生产过程中,每一个决定都可能影响到啤酒的最终口味;它的每一个步骤都会影响到啤酒的色、香、味,甚至它们的质地。

曾有人说,葡萄酒的味道取决于葡萄园;精心呵护的葡萄在发酵时就会绽放出它们的本色。反过来说,美味啤酒的诞生还是离不开酿酒厂的鬼斧神工——不管是哪里的啤酒厂,只要它愿意,都能买到自己所需要的原材料;只有用心配制、精心酿造,才能创造出人间美味。

 

相关阅读:

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Introduction to brewing

 

BB Brewing Intro 1 small

Literally dozens of decisions must be made by the brewer before the beer is ready for bottling.

By: Stephen Beaumont

 

Armed with the multitude of ingredient possibilities detailed in the What’s in a beer section , a brewer now faces a basic brewing process with a proverbial spider’s web of decisions to make. Some of these decisions will have had to have been made weeks or months before brewing can begin – what sort of equipment to buy for the brewery, for instance, or how to heat the kettle and mash tun – while others will be much more single recipe specific.


Leaving aside the issues that must be resolved long before a single beer recipe might be developed, among the myriad of choices a brewer must make are such matters as the combination of grains that will go into the mash, the varieties of hops used to season the beer, how the brewing water might need to be prepared, how long to set the boil and even in what package the final beer will appear.

 
BB Brewing Intro 2 small

Modern breweries come in all sorts of sizes, from modest and hand-on to huge and highly computerized.

Even more basic are such issues as whether the beer will be fermented at warmer temperatures with an ale yeast or under cooler conditions with a lager yeast, how much sugar the unfermented beer might contain and whether those sugars will be derived entirely from grain or supplemented by raw sugars – hence how strong the final beer might be – and whether the desired character will be crisp and refreshing or malty and satisfying, light-bodied and with an unassertive flavour profile or boldly hoppy and intense.

 
Each decision made along the way will certainly, and possibly dramatically, affect the character of the final beer. So with every single step, the brewer comes closer to defining the colour, aroma, flavour and even the texture of their beer.


It has been said that wine is created in the vineyard, where carefully tended grapes develop characteristics that will only reveal themselves after fermentation. That being the case, beer is most certainly created in the brewhouse, where ingredients – most of which are available to any brewer with the money and inclination to buy them, no matter where their brewery might be located – must be put together in very precise ways in order to yield a consistent, flavourful brew.

 

See also: