探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

传统啤酒区介绍

 

Beer Regions Traditional Intro 1 small

这种被称作布朗酒吧的地方已经服务了阿姆斯特丹的几代居民

作者: Stephen Beaumont

 

有人知道啤酒的真正发源地是哪里,最早的文献记载将答案指向了公元前7000年的中国湖南,但是根据公元前9000年的农作物布局推断,啤酒酿造可能始于两千年前的美索不达米亚。不管怎样,提到啤酒的时候,这些地方都不是现代人想到的答案。

 

尽管全世界在啤酒酿造工艺上取得进步,从香港到意大利,从加拿大到新加坡,对于普通的饮酒者来说,提到啤酒时浮现在脑海的只有少量的国家,数百年来满足这些国家“渴望”的并不是红酒或威士忌,也不是茶和含糖的碳酸饮料,而是啤酒,而这些国家差不多都云集在北欧,被认为是全球的传统啤酒酿造区。

 
Beer Regions Traditional Intro 2 small

漫步在几乎所有的欧洲广场,比如安特卫普,您会发现那里到处都是咖啡馆,酒吧和酒吧式餐厅。

英国和比利时,德国和爱尔兰,捷克共和国和荷兰,还有其它地方:每个都以不同的风格去酿造啤酒,就如同每个地方在酿酒声望上都有它不一样的主张。在一些地方,一种啤酒的风格就是他们啤酒的名片,如德国北部科隆(Köln)的金色科什(kölsch)啤酒。但是在其它地方那是一种啤酒文化,正如我们所看到的英国人对坚持去酒吧这一传统的热情,而游客也蜂拥而至体验那些相同的传统。


基本来说,这些传统啤酒酿酒区都是能生长大麦和酒花的地方,到今天在许多情况下仍是这样。例如,捷克共和国是或许地球上最有名的啤酒花—萨兹(Saaz)的产地,德国南部是世界上最大的单一啤酒花---哈勒陶(Hallertau)的生长区,英格兰因一种叫做麦里斯水獭(Marris Otter)的麦芽酒大麦而闻名,一些酿酒师认为那是地球上最好的酿酒大麦。


不管是什么原因,在部分或者所有大众啤酒饮用者的眼中,这些地方浓缩了浪漫和精彩,这种具有亲密关系和社交能力的饮品叫啤酒。这网站的啤酒专栏会介绍这些地区,并探索他们动感迷人的啤酒文化和亚文化。

 

相关阅读:

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Introduction to the traditional beer regions

 

Beer Regions Traditional Intro 1 small

So-called “brown bars” like this have been serving beer to Amsterdam residents for generations.

By: Stephen Beaumont

 

No one knows where beer truly began. The earliest documented evidence points to the Hunan province of China in 7000 BC, while crop patterns of 9000 BC infer that brewing was likely taking place in Mesopotamia two millennia earlier. Regardless, it is to neither of those places that the modern mind drifts when the topic of beer is mentioned.

 

Despite the advances made in the brewing arts the world over, from Hong Kong to Italy and Canada to Singapore, for the average drinker, the mention of beer brings to mind only a handful of nations where the national thirst has for centuries been slaked by neither wine or whisky, tea nor sugary sodas, but beer. These countries, all clustered more-or-less together in northern Europe, can be considered the globe’s traditional brewing regions, and it is to them that this section is devoted.

 
Beer Regions Traditional Intro 2 small

Stroll almost any European square, such as this one in Antwerp, and you’ll find it ringed with cafes, pubs or bar-restaurants.

England and Belgium, Germany and Ireland, the Czech Republic and the Netherlands, and several others: each came to brewing in a different fashion, just as each has its own unique claim to brewing fame. For some, it is a style of beer which serves as their beery calling card, such as the golden kölsch of Köln in northern Germany, while for others it is a beer culture, as witnessed by the fervor with which the English cling to their pub traditions, those same traditions visitors flock to experience.


Principally, each of these traditional brewing regions are areas where barley and hops have been able to grow, and in many instances still do. The Czech Republic, for instance, is responsible for what may be the most famous hop variety on the planet, Saaz, while southern Germany is home to the world’s single largest hop growing region, Hallertau. England, on the other hand, is known for a variety of malted barley known as Marris Otter, considered by some brewers to be the best brewing barley on the planet.


Whatever the reason, though, each of these places encapsulates some or all of what the beer drinking public views as the romance and allure, the kinship and sociability of this beverage called beer. The role of this section is to introduce these lands and explore their dynamic and captivating beer cultures and subcultures.

 

See also: