探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

葡萄酒的陈化过程与艺术

wine1

萄酒的奇妙之一就是佳酿葡萄酒是如何完美无缺地进行陈化的。佳酿葡萄酒在刚开始装瓶以后,都几乎是不能饮用的,经过多年的存放,就会变成绝妙的葡萄酒。但是,这一切是如何产生的----为什么会产生这一切?为什么一些葡萄酒可以完美无缺地进行陈化,而另外一些葡萄酒却会土崩瓦解?为什么一些葡萄酒存放五年就变得更好,然后就变坏,而另外一些葡萄酒可以连续存放几十年仍然能够进行生长发育?


要想理解这一点,首先我们就要了解一下单宁。多种单宁是那些通过葡萄皮,葡萄籽和葡萄茎,以及通过多数葡萄酒用来陈化的橡木桶浸透到葡萄酒中的结构。葡萄酒中单宁所表现出来的不是一种味道,而是一种口感。它是存在舌尖上有一层薄膜的口感,许多人感觉其是与苦味相关的。茶和咖啡也是富含单宁的饮料,尝尝茶的口感是了解葡萄酒中单宁口感的一种良好的方式。在口中咀嚼葡萄籽也是迅速了解单宁的一种方法。

在葡萄酒酿造出来以后,这些单宁就以液体的形式存在于葡萄酒之中。它们与其它成分是结合在一起的,人们基本上“看不见”它们----尽管在红葡萄酒中,它们是可以看见的,葡萄酒的颜色本身就含有单宁的颜色。慢慢随着葡萄酒的陈化,这些单宁就会与葡萄酒中的其它成分发生反应,直到它们最终不能以液体存在,而是沉淀为酒垢为止。这就是为什么陈年的红葡萄酒瓶底往往都有酒垢堆积的原因。

当这种情况产生时,还会发生一些其它状况。最明显的就是颜色的变化。葡萄酒会进行氧化(在红葡萄酒中,这一点是很难观察到的,但是,在含单宁的白葡萄酒中,人们可以看到葡萄酒的颜色变得更为棕黄一点)。在红葡萄酒中,红颜色的色素(花青素苷)是与酒垢结合在一起的,酒体的红颜色就会变得淡一些(由于发生氧化的原因,其结果是酒经常会变成砖红色)。葡萄酒的芳香也会发生改变----即称为还原芳香(或者酒香)会发育成长,并变得更为明显。

果香味会逐渐变成更具有细微差别的味道,经常具有更多的木材味和皮革味。随着单宁的陈化,口感会变得更软化一些,即原来口感坚硬,辛辣会变得口更更柔和,顺畅一些。

如果葡萄酒中的酸度平衡是理想的,这种生长发育就可以延续许多年,可以出现更多具有细微差别的味道和酒香。如果葡萄酒中的酸度是不理想的,如果开始葡萄酒中的单宁就不够多,葡萄酒就会失去其结构,变得土崩瓦解,酒的味道就会变得糟糕透顶。

单凭经验来说,并不是所有的葡萄酒都可以进行良好的陈化。赤霞珠葡萄酒(Cabernet sauvignon)比其它葡萄酒陈化的要好一些;佳酿谐同耐葡萄酒(chardonnary)可以长时间地进行陈化;佳酿甜味雷司令葡萄酒(riesling)几乎可以无限期地进行陈化(其它一些甜味白葡萄酒也可以这样陈化);特别卓越的黑皮诺葡萄酒(pinot noir)可以进行出奇完美的陈化;梅洛葡萄酒(merlot)自身不能进行良好的陈化,但是,如果能采用赤霞珠葡萄来混合进行平衡,就可以进行长时间的陈化。

 

更多葡萄酒小贴士:

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Like a fine wine: the art of aging gracefully

wine1

One of the magical aspects of wine is how gracefully great wines can age. A great wine that may be virtually undrinkable when first bottled can, over the years, transform into something truly beautiful. But how – and why – does this happen? What makes some wines age perfectly, and others fall apart? Why do some wines get better for five years and then get worse, while some can continue to develop over decades?

 

To understand this, we need to first look at tannin. Tannins are those structures imbued in the wine through the skins, seeds, and stems of the grape, as well as through the oak barrels in which much wine is aged. Tannin shows up in wine not as a flavor, but rather as a mouthfeel. It is that slight coating on your tongue, and many people relate it to bitterness. Tea and coffee are both tannic-rich drinks as well, and the mouthfeel of tea is a good way to get a feel for tannin in wine. Chewing seeds is also a fast way to understand tannin.


When a wine is made, these tannins exist in solution in the wine. They have bonded with things and become essentially ‘invisible’ to us – though in the case of red wines they very visibly lend their color to the wine. Over time, as a wine ages, these tannins react with other elements of the wine, until they finally can’t remain in solution anymore, and they precipitate into sediment. This is why older red wines have a collection of sediment at the bottom of the bottle.


When this happens, a few things occur. Most noticeably, the color changes. The wine oxidizes (in red wine this is hard to see, but in tannic white wines you see the wine shift to become more brown). In red wine the red color pigment (anthocyanins) bond to the sediment, and the color lightens (combined with the oxidization this often results in a brick color). The aromas of the wine also shift – what are called reductive aromas (or bouquet) develop and become more pronounced.


Fruit flavors gradually shift into more nuanced flavors, often with more wood and leather. As the tannins mature, they also become softer in the mouth, so what once may have been a hard and biting feel becomes more silky and smooth.


If the acid balance of the wine is ideal, this development can continue for years and years, with ever more nuanced flavors and bouquets coming forward. If the balance was poor, or if there wasn’t sufficient tannin in the initial wine, the wine will become unstructured and fall apart, becoming a mass of bad flavors.


As a rule of thumb, not all wines age well. Cabernet sauvignon tends to age better than others; good chardonnay can age for a long time; great sweet rieslings can age virtually indefinitely (as can a number of other sweet whites); truly spectacular pinot noir can age surprisingly well; merlot on its own tends not to age well, but if balanced with cabernet sauvignon can last for a long time.

 

More wine tips: