探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

大麦麦芽: 酿造所有啤酒的基础

 

Beer Whats Malt small

在传统的地面制麦芽法工艺流程中,人们将湿润的大麦铺开以便发芽.要经常翻动谷物以便保证有均匀的发芽.

作者: Stephen Beaumont

 

麦麦芽通常以 “麦芽”简称,是将谷物通过浸湿直到开始发芽为止,然后烘干使其停止继续生长.本工艺流程的目的是释放谷物中的淀粉,在啤酒酿造工艺流程开始以后,淀粉首先就会转化成可发酵的糖,最后发酵成二氧化碳和酒精.如果不具备这样现成的淀粉,就不会产生发酵,或者哪怕即使产生发酵,也会慢很多,也会不充分.


除了水以外,麦芽就是啤酒的主要配料,一般是经过制麦芽法(maltings)的专业操作规程,每天进行大量谷物的加工来制作麦芽.这类麦芽中的大部分颜色都是浅金黄色的,但是麦芽也可以制作成各种颜色和味道的,从浅色到淡褐色,还可以焦糖化成黑色和烘烤色,及深浅色之间的各种颜色.

 
Beer Whats Malt 2 small

现代用于酿造啤酒的麦芽可以采用各种各样的麦芽,即可以是很浅色的麦芽,也可以是红色的慕尼黑麦芽和深棕色的 “巧克力”麦芽.


除了可发酵的糖以外,麦芽还可以为啤酒增添一些味道,颜色和芳香.味道包括谷物,麦片的口味,轻微的乳脂糖类甜味,浓烈的巧克力或咖啡风味;颜色包括横跨所有光谱色系,其与啤酒的味道或强度没有关系;芳香包括甜味谷物,焦糖和浓烈的烘烤香味.

 

相关阅读:

 

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Malted barley – the foundation of all beer

 

Beer Whats Malt small

In traditional floor maltings, the wet barley is set out to germinate. The grain must be regularly turned in order to ensure an even malt.

By: Stephen Beaumont

 

Malted barley, commonly known as simply “malt,” is grain that has been soaked until it begins to germinate and then kilned to stop the growth. The purpose of this process is to release the starches in the grain, which when the brewing process is commenced will be converted first to fermentable sugars and ultimately fermented into carbon dioxide and alcohol. Without these readily available starches, fermentation would simply not occur, or occur much more slowly and much less vigorously.

 

The principle ingredient in beer, besides water, malt is typically made at specialty operations known as “maltings” where large amounts of grain are processed on a daily basis. The vast majority of this malt will be pale gold in colour, but malt is also available in all sorts of hues and flavours, from pale to lightly toasted and caramelized to black and roasted, and everything in between.

 
Beer Whats Malt 2 small

Modern brewing malts are available in all sorts of varieties, from very pale malt to reddish Munich malt and dark brown “chocolate” malt.


Aside from fermentable sugars, malt also adds flavour, colour and some aroma to the beer. Flavours range from grainy, cereal tastes to lightly toffee-like sweetness to powerful chocolaty or coffee-ish notes; colour will range across the entire spectrum and may not relate to the flavour or intensity of the beer; and aromas will vary from sweetly grainy to caramelly to strongly roasty.

 

See also: