探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

比尔森(Pilsner)啤酒: 最早的金色陈啤酒

 

BB Styles Pilsner1 small

极发啤酒(Jever),产于德国北部,是比尔森啤酒风格在现代的最佳继承者。

作者: Stephen Beaumont

 

1842年,酿造啤酒所需的四种元素以一种前所未有的新形式碰到了一起:在波西米亚(Bohemia 即今天的捷克)的比尔森镇(Pilsen)工作的德国酿酒师约瑟夫 格鲁(Josef Groll),新烘培好的浅色麦芽、比尔森地区的软水以及英文中被叫做萨兹(Saaz)的当地啤酒花。约瑟夫把麦芽和水混合并把萨兹啤酒花放入其中。之后,约瑟夫又把他自巴伐利亚(Bavaria)带去的贮藏啤酒酵母放入所得的啤酒中进行发酵。酿造出来的新风格,比尔森啤酒由此诞生。

 

尽管有些记录说格鲁的比尔森啤酒是第一个被发明的陈贮啤酒,不过实际上却并非如此。因为在此之前的好几个世纪德国人就已经开始使用冷藏或是瓶装酵母来发酵啤酒(参见酵母—发酵的必备元素)。另外,比尔森啤酒也不是世界上第一种金色啤酒,因为有记录证明在它之前英国麦啤已经存在。甚至,比尔森啤酒也不是第一个使用萨兹啤酒花酿造的啤酒,因为萨兹啤酒花在波西米亚地区被使用已经有一段时间了。


但是,由于工业革命革新了麦芽烘焙的方法(参见大麦麦芽: 酿造所有啤酒的基础)人们能够制造出色泽更为浅淡的麦芽并且从此打开了酿造淡啤酒的大门,而格鲁酿造的比尔森啤酒正是人们酿造淡啤酒的第一个成果。用酵母、水以及啤酒花就能酿造出如此别具一格的啤酒既源于格鲁的周密计划同时也得益于天时地利的运气。

 

BB Styles Pilsner2 small

酿酒师菲力 狄福祖(Phil DiFonzo)在加拿大多伦多的酿酒厂检验他的捷克派比尔森王者啤酒

尽管现在所有的金色贮藏啤酒都源自于格鲁酿造的啤酒,不过比尔森啤酒这一本支目前也大致分为了两类:一支是波西米亚派(也被称为捷克类);另一支是德国派。

 

波西米亚派啤酒仍然秉承经典的平和之风,其特点是保持各类原料香味的均衡、口感微带啤酒花的苦味、入口相对平滑、并且带有麦芽的焦香。在酿造波西米亚派啤酒时,人们偶尔也许带有点乳脂般的润滑口感,不过仍然会保持啤酒口味淡的特点而不会特别甜。

相对波西米亚派而言,德国派比尔森啤酒中麦芽的焦香味道相对淡一些,不过啤酒花的比重会稍高一点,或者口感会相对较苦。不过,若是和中高度苦啤相比的话,德国派的比尔森啤酒的金色依然较浅而且口味相对较淡。

除这两种啤酒之外剩下的的就是不能归入其他金色陈贮啤酒类别的淡金色啤酒。这些啤酒在酿造方法上都传承了比尔森啤酒的酿造技巧,但是却通常和波西米亚派或者德国派没有什么相似之处,很多国际知名的金色啤酒品牌都归属于此类啤酒。金色陈贮啤酒有时还被称作为国际比尔森或者大洲比尔森,口感从适中到极苦、从微甜到很甜,色泽则是从金黄到浅金色。

 

相关阅读:

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Pilsner, the original golden lager

 

BB Styles Pilsner1 small

Jever, a pilsner from northern Germany, is emblematic of the modern interpretation of the style.

By: Stephen Beaumont

 

In 1842, four aspects of beer came together in a revolutionary form. A German brewer named Josef Groll, working in the Bohemian (now-Czech) town of Pilsen, combined a newly available pale-coloured malt with the soft water of the region and a local hop known in English as Saaz. He then fermented the resulting beer with a lager yeast he had brought with him from Bavaria and thus created the world’s first pilsner.

 

Groll’s pilsner was not the first lager beer, as is sometimes reported, since the Germans had been fermenting with cool- or bottom-fermenting yeasts for centuries (see What’s in a Beer: Yeast). Neither was it the first blonde beer, since records indicate it was fashioned after British ales of the time, nor the first beer to use Saaz hops, which had been employed in Bohemia for some time.


But when the Industrial Revolution modernized the malting of grain (see What’s in a Beer: Malted Barley) and made possible the production of extremely pale-coloured malt, it opened the door to the production of very pale-hued beer, which was what Groll created in Pilsen. That the yeast, water and hops were in place to make the beer exceptional was simply good planning combined with no small amount of luck.

 

BB Styles Pilsner2 small

Brewer Phil DiFonzo checks on his Czech style King Pilsner at the brewery in Toronto, Canada.

While all golden lagers brewed today are the spiritual descendents of Groll’s beer, proper pilsners are generally divided into two categories: Bohemian (sometimes known as Czech) style and German style.

 

The Bohemian style beer is classically a balanced blend of floral and moderately bitter hoppiness and smooth, lightly caramelly maltiness. It will sometimes have a hint of a buttery creaminess to it, but should always finish dry rather than at all sweet.

 

The German style pilsner should be thinner in maltiness than the Bohemian original and so higher in perceived hoppiness, or bitterness. It should also be light gold in colour and quite dry with a medium to high degree of bitterness.

 

Outside of those two classes is grouped all the remaining pale golden beers that don’t fit into other golden lager classes. These are beers technically descended from the original pilsner, but often bear little resemblance to either the Bohemian or German style, and include most of the world’s best-selling global beer brands. Sometimes described as international pilsner or continental pilsner, they range from moderately to very mildly hoppy and bright to very pale gold in colour, with light to medium grainy sweetness.

 

See also: