探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

浅谈黑皮诺葡萄克隆品种

nature12hd

乎所有的葡萄酒都是从一个葡萄(Vitis vinifera)品种来酿造的。几百年以来,这单一葡萄品种都产生了突变,进化成了大量不同的变种,其名称就是我们大家所熟悉和钟爱的黑皮诺葡萄,赤霞珠葡萄(cabernet sauvignon),谐同耐葡萄(chardonnay),雷司令葡萄(riesling)和成千上万的其它名称。黑皮诺葡萄是一种特别古老的葡萄变种,可能来自于Vitis sylvestris原始野生母株的一代或者二代。黑皮诺葡萄碰巧也很容易产生突变,因此该变种又产生了使人们感到吃惊数量(几百种)的变异克隆品种。


克隆变异是很微妙的事情,人们自身往往不愿意加以考虑,但是过多地着迷于克隆,往往就会使人们选择饮用他们认为是由“最佳的”克隆品种酿造的次等葡萄酒,而不去饮用佳酿的葡萄酒。其实在确定成品质量时,风土,年份和酿酒师的技能比具体选择葡萄克隆品种显得更为重要。然而,克隆品种对于分析黑皮诺葡萄来说是一个令人着迷的部分,对这一变异葡萄品种确实着迷的人们,可以做一些细查。

葡萄克隆品种之间最重要的的区别,可能就在于特定气候条件下,某种克隆品种成熟的能力。例如,在俄勒冈州(Oregon),我们见到韦登斯韦尔(Wädenswil)克隆品种得到了广泛的栽培,因为它能够在温度较低的气候条件下成熟。该克隆品种于十六世纪从法国传入以后,在瑞士开发出来,它还具有极好的天然抗病能力。在UC戴维斯体系中(UC Davis ),美国使用最多的是韦登斯韦尔的两个克隆变异品种----即UCD 1A和2A。在其它地方,可以看见广泛使用役马克隆品种。这就是来自于UC戴维斯体系中的UCD4的波马德(Pommard)克隆品种,加州许多卓越的酒庄都使用它。

在大多数情况下,多个克隆品种都是混合在一起使用的,以便可以把各个克隆品种的优势结合起来。例如,一般来说大家都同意114,115,667和777为四个“最佳的”迪乔恩(Dijon)(法国的)克隆品种。它们都具有各自的优点和缺点:777可以传递出丰厚的单宁和丰富的色彩;115是役马克隆品种,具有可以预测的用于酿造醇厚葡萄酒的产量;667颜色深,具有稳固的结构,但是需要存放多年才能软化;114质量超群,但是不易成熟。因此,许多人都将这四个克隆品种混合使用,以便酿造出可以信赖的,高品质的葡萄酒,并且该葡萄酒还可以逐渐进行良好的陈化。如果有人期望得到更多酸度和芳香的黑皮诺葡萄酒,而且能够马上饮用,就可以选择将混合物中的667去掉,并采用发泡克隆品种诸如292来替代。

大多数黑皮诺葡萄酒的酿酒师们都热衷于谈论克隆品种,如果你对这个深奥的世界感兴趣,在下次品鉴葡萄酒的时候,就可以提出许多问题来。找出是采用哪些克隆品种酿造出了你钟爱的葡萄酒,并寻找出更多这类克隆品种,看不同的葡萄酒使用它们是如何保持品质一致的。

 


更多葡萄酒小贴士:

 

(版权声明:转载时请以超链接形式标明文章原始出处:http://www.chichaku.com

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Pinot noir clones: the basics

nature12hd

Almost all wine is made from a single species of grape – Vitis vinifera. Over the centuries this one species has mutated and evolved into a myriad of different varieties – the names we all know and love: pinot noir, cabernet sauvignon, chardonnay, riesling, and thousands of others. Pinot noir is an especially old variety of grape, probably removed by only a generation or two from the original wild stock of Vitis sylvestris. Pinot noir also happens to be very susceptible to mutation, which has led to an astounding number (in the hundreds) of viable clones of the variety.

 

Clonal variation is a subtle thing, and something you may not wish to concern yourself with. Often, an obsession with clones leads people to avoid excellent wines in favor of lesser wines that use what they consider to be the ‘best’ clones. Terroir, vintage, and the skill of the winemaker are all much more important in determining the finished product than the specific clone selection. Nonetheless, clones are a fascinating part of the anatomy of pinot noir, and for those truly obsessed with this varietal, they bear some examination.


Perhaps the most important distinction between clones is the ability of a given clone to ripen in a specific climate. So, for example, we see the Wädenswil clone planted throughout Oregon, because it has an aptitude for ripening in cooler climates. The clone developed in Switzerland, after being brought from France in the 1500s, and also has excellent natural disease resistance. In the United States two clonal varietals of Wädenswil are mostly used, out of the UC Davis system – UCD 1A and 2A. In other cases, you will see the prevalence of a workhorse clone that is widely available. This is certainly the case with the Pommard clone from UC Davis, UCD4, which is used in many exceptional wineries in California.


Most often you will see clones blended to combine the best aspects of each. For example, the four ‘best’ Dijon (French) clones are generally agreed to be 114, 115, 667, and 777. All have their own benefits and disadvantages: 777 imparts a great deal of tannin and a rich color; 115 is a workhorse clone with predictable yields that produce powerful wines; 667 has a deep color and a solid structure, but needs to be laid down for years to soften; and 114 is of exceptional quality, but ripening can be very difficult. Many people will therefore blend these four clones to produce reliable, high-quality wines that can age gracefully over time. Someone looking to create a pinot noir with more acid and aromas, that can be drunk younger, might choose to remove 667 from that blend, and instead replace it with a sparkling clone like 292.


Most pinot noir winemakers love to talk about clones, and if you’re interested in this enormous world, just ask questions next time you’re tasting. Find which clones tend to create wines you love, and seek out more of those clones to see how consistent the qualities are from wine to wine.

 

More wine tips: