探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

圣克鲁兹山葡萄酒产区:孕育在太平洋的轻吻

 

california_santacruzmountains01

克鲁兹山葡萄酒监制产区被认为是“在加利福尼亚州中最被人忽略的产区,”这个形容词应当之无愧-它是加利福尼亚州一些最具有影响力葡萄酒的发源地,它是世界上一些最有创新精神和实验性黑皮诺(pinot noir)葡萄酒酿造商的发源地,它是采用反主流文化方式酿造葡萄酒的发源地,圣克鲁兹山确实是一个与其它地方完全不一样的葡萄酒产地。

 

它的土地总面积为32.2万英亩,其中只1500英亩用于栽培葡萄树。栽培面积一直都是这样的稀少。大的葡萄酒庄在圣克鲁兹山有来有往穿梭不停----由于破坏性的皮尔斯病(Pierce’s disease)对葡萄树造成的影响很大。然而,在过去的十年中,该葡萄酒产地已经开始恢复了一些昔日所取得的荣耀。诸如里斯葡萄园(Rhys Vineyards)酒庄,在黑皮诺葡萄酒的爱好者当中已获得了一群狂热的追随者,脱离每年产量和品质不稳定的阴影。

 

圣克鲁兹山的继承传统跨越了几十年。两个葡萄酒庄----诸如大卫.布鲁斯(David Bruce)和山脊葡萄园(Ridge Vineyards)----与法国许多上佳的葡萄酒一起,共同参与了别具争议的1976年巴黎葡萄酒鉴定会(1976 Judgment of Paris)的竞争。两个葡萄酒庄都获得了名次----在红葡萄酒类的评比中,1971年的山脊赤霞珠(1971 Ridge Cabernet Sauvignon)葡萄酒获得了第五名,而在白葡萄酒类的评比中,1973年的大卫.布鲁斯谐同耐(the 1973 David Bruce Chardonnay)葡萄酒获得了第十名。

 

圣克鲁兹山葡萄酒产地栽培的许多克隆葡萄品种,早于加利福尼亚州其它主要葡萄栽培地区中起主导作用的极现代克隆葡萄品种。在葡萄酒专业作家,品酒师和葡萄酒狂热爱好者当中,这些遗传下来的葡萄树结出的葡萄逐渐赢得了他们的爱戴,并开始以其独特的风味赢得日常饮用葡萄酒人们的内心世界。

 

california_santacruzmountains02

在圣克鲁兹山品鉴葡萄酒是一种奇妙的体验。品鉴葡萄酒的场地环境布置在太平洋以东的山脉之中半隐半现,白天炎热,晚间凉爽----真是奇妙无比。红尾鹰在大片未开发的林地上空盘旋飞翔,人们在品鉴葡萄酒之余还可以漫步行走在美妙的林间小道上。

 

圣克鲁兹山葡萄酒品鉴室的文化是加利福尼亚州葡萄酒乡村之旅的高潮之一。在该葡萄酒产地有许多主要的葡萄酒庄----最著名的可能是邦尼.杜恩(Bonny Doon)酒庄----但是,它们更独特和更奇妙。它还有无数小规模的葡萄酒庄,只生产完全不同于其它品种,难以置信的小批量葡萄酒。因此,它们往往可以为人们提供一个品尝新品种葡萄酒的机会,人们可以购买并携带走别处找不到的尊贵葡萄酒品种。

 

相关阅读:

北加利福尼亚酒庄园之旅

 

(版权声明:转载时请以超链接形式标明文章原始出处:http://www.chichaku.com

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Santa Cruz Mountains: kissed by the Pacific

 

 

See also

 

california_santacruzmountains01

The Santa Cruz Mountains appellation has been referred to as “California’s most underrated wine district”, a title it well deserves. Home to some of the most influential wines in California, home to some of the most innovative and experimental producers of pinot noir in the world, and home to a counter-cultural approach to winemaking, the Santa Cruz Mountains is a region truly like nowhere else.


Out of a total land area of 322,000 acres, only around 1,500 acres are planted under vine. The situation has always been this sparse. Great wineries have come and gone in the Santa Cruz Mountains – in no small part due to a tendency towards the devastating Pierce’s disease among vines. In the past decade the region has begun to reclaim some of its former glory, however. Wineries like Rhys Vineyards have earned a cult following among pinot noir lovers, and have begun to turn around a region once looked at as somewhat hit-or-miss from year to year.


The legacy of the Santa Cruz Mountains spans decades. Two wineries – David Bruce and Ridge Vineyards – competed in the infamous 1976 Judgment of Paris, alongside the great wines of France. They both placed – the 1971 Ridge Cabernet Sauvignon placed 5th in the Red Wine category, and the 1973 David Bruce Chardonnay placed 10th in the White Wine Category.

 

Many of the clones being grown in the Santa Cruz Mountains predate the hip modern clones that dominate the other major growing regions of California. These heritage vines are gaining ground among wine writers, sommeliers, and wine aficionados, and are starting to win over the hearts of everyday drinkers with their distinctive flavors.

california_santacruzmountains02


Tasting in the Santa Cruz Mountains is a wonderful experience. The setting – nestled in the mountain range just east of the Pacific Ocean, with hot days and cooler nights – is stunning. Red-tailed hawks soar above largely undeveloped woodland, and there are beautiful hikes to fill the hours between tastings.


The Santa Cruz Mountains’ tasting room culture is one of the highlights of California’s wine country. There are major wineries in the region – Bonny Doon is probably the best known – but even they are unique and quirky. And there are a myriad of small-scale winemakers, producing small quantities of completely distinctive, incredible wine. They offer an opportunity to try something new, and bring away a treasure not found anywhere else.

 

See also:

Visit California for the wine and the weather