探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

海洋的众多馈赠之一

在滨海的地方享受大海的馈赠

当地的浆果酒取悦您的味蕾

地道的美食。让您难以忘怀的菜肴名

自己采摘蓝莓,或者尽情享受当地厨师为您准备的绝佳菜肴

Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2011 JoomlaWorks, a business unit of Nuevvo Webware Ltd.
 

带着冒险心品味纽芬兰的美食

 

尝纽芬兰的美食本身就堪称一场冒险,比如鳕鱼舌,不同的准备和烹饪方法决定了它可以变得超级光滑或者成凝胶状。另外,鳕鱼是煮鱼的完美食材,用肉眼难以辨别它与其它鱼的差别,这里所说的鱼是指鳕鱼,如果提及其它鱼都会使用它们的名字如比目鱼,龙虾,卡普林等等。如果您想在餐厅里点鱼,不管是在圣约翰高档的餐厅,还是在外港交叉处的炸鱼排店里,您都要询问好它是否新鲜,如果不新鲜,您能应选择其它食物。

 

您会在本地菜单上惊喜地发现一些关于鱼的菜肴,烤的,炸的,裹面的,烟熏的或熏制的,再加上蔬菜,这些是标准的做法。通常会把活着的龙虾放进水里煮,螃蟹只吃脚,年轻热辣的主厨们汲取了传统的主食做法,但是却以新颖的方式进行处理,产生了令人垂涎的效果,当然并不仅仅只是针对做鱼,亚洲草药和蔬菜,地中海的食谱和阿富汗的甜点都可以出现在菜肴中。二十年前,您很少在菜单中发现咖喱,但是今天它出现在很多地方的主食中,当然在那些坚守传统的小社区里找不到这种做法。


吉格餐(Jigg’s Dinner)是纽芬兰的传统菜肴,把煮过的咸肉和土豆,胡萝卜,防风草,卷心菜,萝卜等蔬菜,有时还有豌豆布丁一起放进锅中烹制。数百年前,那是水手的食物。另外一道主食是鱼和牛肉汤,咸鳕鱼和经过浸透变得柔软的硬面包一起烹饪,上面放入融化的黄油,或者放上传统香草,也就是开胃菜。

 

当地的浆果大受欢迎,特别是野生低灌木蓝莓,它的味道远远好过高灌木的蓝莓,而且营养价值高,还有云莓(其它地方叫做云莓),阿特金斯梨(萨斯卡通浆果),野生蔓越莓,红醋栗,草莓,树莓和越橘。它们被制作成各种甜点,您还能在果酱,果冻和酱料中找到这些浆果。吃到用蓝莓酱和一杯冰酒在家里制作的冰淇淋的感觉就如同接近美食天堂。

 

(版权声明:转载时请以超链接形式标明文章原始出处:http://www.chichaku.com

Discover the world in your own language!

English

One of the many bounties from the sea

A land that lives by the sea, enjoy the bounty that the sea provides

Local berry wines, a palate pleaser

Authentic cuisine. Recipes with names you'll never forget

Pick your own berries or enjoy wonderful recipes prepared by local chefs

Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2011 JoomlaWorks, a business unit of Nuevvo Webware Ltd.

Newfoundland

via rail sidebar

 

 

Step on the wild side – taste Newfoundland!

 

Eating in Newfoundland can be an adventure all on its own. Take cod tongues, for instance; they can be super smooth or gelatinous, depending on how they were prepared and cooked. Cod cheeks, on the other hand, are perfect for a fish stew and are virtually indistinguishable from the rest of the fish. Fish means cod fish. All other fish are spoken of by their name – halibut, lobster, caplin, etc. If you want to order fish at a restaurant – be it a high-end eatery in St. John’s or a fish ‘n’ chips joint in an outport – ask if it’s fresh. If not, choose something else.

 

There are surprisingly few fish dishes in the home cooking repertoire. Baked or fried, rolled in flour, smoked or kippered, and served with vegetables are standard methods. Lobsters are usually boiled – alive. With crabs, only the legs are eaten. The hot new chefs have taken the old staples and prepared them in new ways, with mouth-watering results – and not just for fish. Asian herbs and vegetables, Mediterranean recipes, and Afghan desserts are opening minds. Twenty years ago you’d be hard pressed to find curry on any menu. Today’s it’s a staple in many places, but don’t go looking for it in small communities where tradition holds sway.

 

The traditional dish is Jigg’s Dinner – boiled salt meat cooked in the same pot as vegetables – potatoes, carrots, parsnip, green cabbage, turnip, and perhaps pease pudding. It’s what sailors were fed centuries ago. Another staple is fish and brewis – salted cod cooked with hard bread that’s been soaked to soften it, topped by melted butter and maybe with some savoury, the traditional herb.

 

Local berries are very popular, especially low-bush wild blueberries which taste much better than their high-bush cousins and have a higher nutritional content, bakeapples (elsewhere called cloudberries), chuckly pears (Saskatoon berries), wild cranberries, currants, strawberries, raspberries, and partridge berries (mountain cranberries). They are cooked in desserts of all kinds, but are also found in jams, jellies and sauces. Home-made ice cream with bakeapple sauce and a glass of ice wine is as close to Nirvana as it gets.