探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

小麦啤种类介绍

 

BB Styles Wheat1 small

 至今尚存的、最古老的德国小麦啤酒是施耐德白啤酒(Schneider Weisse)。这种啤酒以前由皇家巴伐利亚啤酒厂(Royal Bavarian Court)独家酿造,现在仍然在它是家族手中。

作者: Stephen Beaumont

 

上层发酵的淡色啤酒中,给大麦麦芽中添加小麦麦芽能起到两方面的作用:第一,它能冲淡啤酒的涩度,使它更加清爽,从而酿造出一天当中该喝的第一瓶酒;其次,它能给啤酒一种淡淡的柑橘味。这两种特性使得小麦啤酒(也被称为白啤酒)在酿造世界里独领风骚。麦啤的种类繁多,但主要包括三种。

 

BB Styles Wheat3 small

 

最早酿造比利时风味麦啤的第一人是布朗瑟•德•杉普利;现如今,这种酒在魁北克的尤尼布朗尼酿酒厂(Unibroue)仍有生产。

巴伐利亚风味:它又被称为麦啤(weizen)、酵母小麦啤酒(hefeweizen)或白啤酒(weissbier)。由于它使用了大量的小麦麦芽,味道会比大麦麦芽酒清淡,但同时又比用未发芽小麦酿制的啤酒稍浓。(通常情况下,酿造白啤酒的谷物中至少含有50%的小麦麦芽,这个比例最高可达80%)。然而更重要的是,它使用的是一种巴伐利亚小麦啤酒酵母。这种酵母通常会让啤酒产生一种辣味(如丁香、黑胡椒的味道)和香蕉的独特香气。绝大多数白啤酒都具有这些特点。

 

比利时风味白啤酒:它还被称为白啤酒(white beer 或bière blanche)或威特啤(wit);是由未发芽的小麦(最高可占到谷物的35%)和大麦麦芽酿制而成。这种啤酒的添加料包括五香香菜和酸橘子皮,有时还有其它的一些香草或香料;使它有了柑橘和胡椒的味道。比利时威特是这种酒的极品,它的口味清爽轻淡,微甜但不发腻;非常适合用做早午餐和其他便餐的饮品。


最后一种小麦啤酒是北美麦啤。在早期的麦芽酒小作坊,小麦麦芽仅被当作是一种稀释啤酒的调料;这样酿造出来的啤酒更适合窖藏啤酒消费者的口味。这些啤酒一般比较清淡,略带有柠檬的味道;并且不会产生比较明显的啤酒花味、麦芽味或果味。

 

 

相关阅读:

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

The many faces of wheat

 

BB Styles Wheat1 small

 The oldest still surviving German wheat beer, once brewed exclusively at the Royal Bavarian Court brewery, is Schneider Weisse, from a brewery still in family hands.

By: Stephen Beaumont

 

The addition of wheat to barley malt in a top-fermented ale does two things: first, it lightens the character of the beer, making it more refreshing and creating a style that is the ideal 'first beer of the day,' and secondly, it gives the beer a slight to notably citrusy character. These twin characteristics have made wheat beers, sometimes known as white beers, popular the brewing world over. There exist many variations on the wheat theme, but three main types of wheat beer. 

 

BB Styles Wheat3 small

 

One of the first wheat beers in the Belgian style to be brewed outside of that country was Blanche de Chambly, still brewed today by the Quebec brewery, Unibroue.

The Bavarian-style wheat, known variously as weizen (meaning “wheat”), hefeweizen (“wheat with yeast”) or weissbier (“white beer”), is characterized by the use of large amounts of malted wheat, which creates a beer lighter than an all-barley-malt brew yet slightly heavier than a beer brewed using unmalted wheat. (Typically, at least 50% of the grains used to make a weissbier will be malted wheat, although that percentage can rise as much as to 80%.) More important, however, is the use of a yeast culled from a specific family of Bavarian wheat beer yeasts, which typically impart a spicy (clove, black pepper) and distinctively banana-ish aroma and flavour to the beer. Anything described as a hefeweizen or weissbier should boast these characteristics, although not all do.

 

The Belgian style of wheat beer, also known as white beer, bière blanche or wit, is brewed from unmalted wheat – usually up to a maximum of 35% of the grains – and barley malt. It is then spiced with coriander, sour orange peel and sometimes other herbs or spices, giving it even more of a citrusy, peppery character. At its best, the Belgian wit is a very light yet flavourful beer, slightly sweet but never cloying, and both refreshing and well-suited to brunch dishes and other light fare.


The final common style of wheat beer is the North American wheat. Crafted by early ale-focused microbreweries, this style uses malted wheat simply as a way of lightening the body of the beer to make it more accessible to the average consumer of major label lagers. These beers are generally light bodied and faintly lemony in flavour, without significant hoppiness or malty or fruity character.

 

 

See also: