探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

IPA 印度麦啤,一种常被误读的啤酒

 

BB Styles IPA1 small

为了对印度麦啤的历史进行考证,英国作家皮特 布朗(Pete Brown)携带装满麦芽啤酒的桶重新走了一次英国印度航线,在他的《啤酒花和荣誉》一书中,皮特 布朗详细记述了此次航程。

作者: Stephen Beaumont

 

度麦啤(India Pale Ale,简称 IPA啤酒)是淡啤/百事特苦啤的衍生酒类。尽管本身极具传奇和神话色彩,印度麦啤也并非是传说中“具备足够的力量与苦涩来捱过英国至印度的漫长旅程而不会失去味道”的圣品。不过,尽管如此还是有人对印度麦啤的神力深信不疑。实际上,在印度麦啤诞生之前,已有不少啤酒就能捱过这个漫长的旅程,比如当时在伦敦及其周边地区盛极一时的波特黑啤(porter)。

 

BB Styles IPA2 small赛维加利亚 克劳拉多(Cervejaria Colorado)的例子证明了迅速流行起来的印度麦啤目前已经风靡全球,从英国到美国、意大利、日本甚至巴西都能看到印度麦啤的身影。

其实,人们无意中发现,苦啤的味道在从英国去往印度的漫长航程中会变得更好。后来这种被叫做“印度风味啤”的啤酒在英国以及其他国家逐渐流行开来,也即是今天的印度麦啤。

 

尽管名称一样,不同系列的IPA啤酒却有不同的特点,例如英国产的印度麦啤的味道要比其他淡啤酒苦味稍淡,而麦芽香味却更为浓厚一点。另外,IPA的酒精含量也相对较低,有些系列的酒精含量甚至可以低至4%左右;而美国产的IPA啤酒口感却偏苦,而且有一种芬芳的苦味,就好像是加入了美国产的“辣花”(c-hop, 参见百事特苦啤和淡爱尔啤酒)类啤酒花,另外美国产的印度麦啤的酒精含量一般不低于6%,通常会更高。

 

美国印度麦啤的酒劲和啤酒花成分高到一定水平,通常是当酒精含量高于8%的时候,原来的印度麦啤就已经蜕变为另一个目前很受欢迎的麦啤系列了,即人们通常所说的高度印度麦啤(double IPA)或帝王麦啤(Imperial pale ale)。2012年的时候帝王麦啤衍生了一种名为“印度黑麦啤”啤酒,尽管寿命的长短还需要时间检验,但此类啤酒在北美洲大受欢迎却是不争的事实。加入优质酒花酿造、色泽呈深棕色或者黑色,从这些特征上看,印度黑麦啤也很适合被称作为啤酒花波特黑啤呢。


作为美国目前最受欢迎的精酿啤酒品牌之一,IPA啤酒已经在世界范围内赢得广泛声誉,从意大利南部到新西兰的北爱尔兰岛,很多人都是IPA啤酒的拥护者;而在像德国和捷克共和国这样对酿酒管理严格并且具有悠久酿酒文化的国家,IPA啤酒也是被高度认可的。

 

相关阅读:

 

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

The oft-misunderstood India pale ale, or IPA

 

BB Styles IPA1 small

In his quest to understand the history of IPA, British writer Pete Brown recreated the journey of a barrel of ale from Burton-upon-Trent to India, a tale retold in his fascinating book, Hops and Glory.

By: Stephen Beaumont

A derivative style of pale ale/best bitter is known as India pale ale. While legend and mythology suggest otherwise, IPA was not a beer style developed expressly “with enough strength and hoppiness to enable it to withstand the long ocean voyage between England and India,” although any number of people will insist that it was. In fact, beer was already making that journey with great success prior to the development of IPA, including the porters which were popular in London and surrounding regions at the time.

 

BB Styles IPA2 smallSuch is the burgeoning popularity of IPA that examples are brewed now all over the world, from England to the United States, Italy, Japan and even Brazil, as witnessed by this example brewed by Cervejaria Colorado.

What truly did happen was that a strong form of bitter ale, which serendipitously improved with the rigors of the ocean voyage from the U.K. to India, became popular enough with Britons both abroad and at home that it became know in Britain as ale “in the India style” and, eventually, India pale ale.

 

IPA’s modern versions differ in the same fashion as do those of pale ale, which is to say that the British take on the style tends to be more gently bitter and roundly malty, and can even be fairly low in alcohol content, as weak as 4% alcohol, more or less. The average American IPA, on the other hand, is much more intensely bitter and frequently quite citrusy, generally hopped as it is with primarily American-grown “c-hop” varieties, and normally at least 6% alcohol by volume and often a fair bit higher.

 

Once an American IPA reaches a certain level of strength and hoppiness, usually upwards of 8% alcohol or so, it joins the ranks of a new form of IPA that is currently growing in popularity, known as double IPA or Imperial pale ale or sometimes Imperial IPA. In 2012, a new deviation of the style known as “black IPA” was rising in popularity in North America, although it remains to be seen if it will survive long-term. Well-hopped and very dark brown or black in colour, it is perhaps equally as well described as hoppy porter.


IPA is now one of the most popular craft beer styles in the United States and is gaining in fashion world-wide, from the south of Italy to the North Island of New Zealand. IPAs have even been spotted in such traditionally regimented and lager-loyal beer cultures as Germany and the Czech Republic.

 

See also: