探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

水: 酿造啤酒的介质

 

Beer Whats Water 1 small

尽管人们很少谈论它,但是水仍然是啤酒中最重要的配料。

作者: Stephen Beaumont

 

般来说,啤酒的90-95%都是由水构成的,而人们往往又忽略了啤酒中的这一重要味道成分。从历史的角度来看,啤酒的各种风格,诸如英国的浅色啤酒(pale ale)或者捷克的比尔森啤酒(pilsner),在很大程度上,都是由酿造这类啤酒之初所使用水中的矿物质含量来确定的。 前者的矿物质含量较高,而后者的矿物质含量则较低。


水的构成要适合于所酿造的啤酒是重要的。水是否是经过处理的自来水或是专门取自于矿泉水都是不重要的,因为长久以来,现代技术已经能够使啤酒酿造厂家对水进行处理,按照需要加入矿物质或者除去矿物质。

 

 

 
Beer Whats Water 2 small

无论是经过处理的自来水还是矿泉水,酿造啤酒所用水中矿物质的含量才是最重要的。

在啤酒酿造厂家仔细考虑其酿造啤酒时所使用水的构成时,对于一般的啤酒消费者来说就不要对此考虑过多,因为大多数啤酒的用水信息披露很有限。人们在具备了一定的啤酒饮用实践和了解啤酒风格的知识以后,一个有经验的啤酒品鉴者,就能够分辨出采用硬水酿造的啤酒和采用软水酿造的啤酒之间的差异。

 

 

相关阅读:

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Water: the medium of brewing

 

Beer Whats Water 1 small

Although little mentioned, water is by far the most preponderant ingredient in beer.

By: Stephen Beaumont

 

Typically, 90-95% of beer is water, yet it is frequently overlooked as an important flavour component of beer. Historically, entire styles of beer, such as the English pale ale or Czech pilsner, have been defined to a great degree by the mineral content of the water originally used to brew them, with higher mineral content in the former case and lower in the latter.

 

What is important is that the water’s composition be appropriate to the beer being brewed. What is not important is whether that water is treated tap water or specially obtained spring water, since modern technology has long since enabled brewers to treat their water, adding or removing minerals as necessary.

 

 
Beer Whats Water 2 small

Whether it is treated tap water or from a spring, what’s most important is the mineral content of the brewing water.

While brewers will carefully consider the composition of the water they use for brewing, it is not something the average consumer should really concern themselves with, since very little information on water will be available for most beers. With practice and beer style knowledge, however, an experienced taster will be able to tell the difference between a beer brewed with hard water and one created from softer water.

 

 

See also: