探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

葡萄酒小贴士 - 错在嗅软木塞:古老仪式背后的真相

cork

上饭桌,点葡萄酒就是令人心生畏惧的事情。仿佛与葡萄酒有关的每件事都萦绕着传统的气息,任何轻微的错误都像是要揭示你对葡萄酒的一无所知,实在让人惴惴不安。事实上,关于葡萄酒的态度不必如此紧张,对一般人的期望不高,而做的太多的人反而容易显露无知。葡萄酒仪式中也再没有比被提供了软木塞更让人备受窘迫的了。

大多数人以为他们应该嗅嗅葡萄酒的瓶塞,以此来分辨酒是否走味或有无其他缺陷。事实上,大多数人只能嗅到软木塞自身的味道,想要分辨酒是否走味通过嗅服务员倒给你的少量的酒或细细品味第一口酒更容易实现。其背后的真相是,提供软木塞在今天的服务中仅仅作为一个古老的传统,在现今仅为仪式,你完全可以忽略服务员提供给你的软木塞了。

 

从历史上看,葡萄酒从前是没有标示标签的。在质量良好的贴合纸张出现之前,葡萄酒全都是用简单的瓶子装满,不管是便宜的酒还是最优质的酒波尔多。酿酒师唯一一个可以对自己的酒进行标示的地方就是软木塞,因其软木塞的性质,拔出后很难以原样塞回酒瓶中。在那个时候,通过检查软木塞,可以很好地确认餐饮店为你提供的酒是原装而非便宜的替代品。

 

而现如今,酒已经有了纸质标签。餐馆也不太可能会提供给你比你点的葡萄酒劣质的代替品。软木塞的仪式也就随之变得不再重要。有些人仍然选择检查软木塞,看它是否已破裂导致酒走味,或是否有霉(有一些霉有时候是在所不免的)。

 

但是最后,所有的关于葡萄酒的品质问题都能通过你的鼻子和舌头最好地得到分辨。在向你呈上木塞后,服务员会把少量的酒倒入杯中供你嗅嗅鉴定、亲口品尝。这样,你就应该能够更清楚地分辨酒是否有缺陷、是否有不当的贮藏。所以,木塞或许可以成为你对特别欣赏的葡萄酒的纪念收藏,但在饭桌上,就不必嗅木塞了。

 

更多葡萄酒小贴士:

 

(版权声明:转载时请以超链接形式标明文章原始出处:http://www.chichaku.com)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Wine tips - don't sniff the cork: the truth behind an age-old ritual

cork

Wine service at a table can be an intimidating affair. Everything has the air of tradition around it, and it’s difficult not to feel like any slight slip-up will reveal you to be someone who knows nothing about wine. In truth, it’s pretty easy – not much is expected of you, and ignorance is generally revealed by people who do too much. No aspect of this ritual is more intimidating to people than being offered the cork.

Most people think they’re supposed to sniff the cork, to detect TCA (a ‘corked’ wine) or some other flaw. In truth, cork just smells like cork to most people, and TCA can much more easily be detected by sniffing the small amount of wine the waiter pours for you, or tasting it. The truth behind being offered the cork is a now archaic tradition that has no bearing on modern day service – it is a remnant from a different time, and you can safely ignore the cork when the waiter hands it to you.

Historically, wines did not have labels. Before the advent of good paper adhesives, they were simply naked bottles filled with anything from a cheap table wine to the most premium of Bordeaux. The only place the winemaker could label his wine was on the cork – and because of the nature of cork (it’s very difficult to get a cork back in a bottle the same way it came out), it was a fairly good way to check and make sure the restaurant was serving you the wine they were charging you for (and not a cheaper substitute).

Now, of course, wines have labels. And it is almost unthinkable that a restaurant would try to pass off a cheaper wine than you ordered. So the ritual of the cork has become unimportant. Some people still choose to examine the cork – to see if it has cracked, allowing air to get in to the wine, or if a significant amount of mold has developed on the cork (a little mold is to be expected in some wines).

Ultimately, however, all of these things can best be detected by your nose and tongue. After presenting the cork, the waiter will next pour a small amount of wine for you to sniff and taste. At this point you should be able to (much more easily) detect flaws or improper storage of the wine. So while the cork might make a nice souvenir to remember an especially great bottle of wine, you don’t really need to do anything with it at the table. An affirmation that it is good will suffice. The waiter will then proceed to pour the wine around the table, finishing with you.

 

More wine tips: