探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

葡萄酒小贴士----单宁:佳酿葡萄酒的结构和基础

red_wine_portrait_1

于佳酿红葡萄来说,再没有什么东西像单宁一样重要了。是单宁使酒体醇厚的红葡萄酒口味那么丰厚;是良好平衡的单宁使葡萄酒产生其风味;是出类拔萃的单宁使最高质量的红葡萄酒和白葡萄酒在长期存放中能够得到改良。

 

葡萄酒中的单宁有两个主要来源:要么来自于葡萄,要么来自于橡木。红葡萄酒中含有葡萄的单宁----它来自于葡萄皮,葡萄籽和葡萄藤茎。总而言之,葡萄的单宁比橡木的单宁要柔和一些,但是,一般红葡萄酒中所含单宁的数量较多。 就是由于这种单宁才可以使诸如赤霞珠(cabernet sauvignon)葡萄酒和黑皮诺(pinot noir)葡萄酒在瓶中陈化和陈熟。

 

在橡木桶中陈化过的红葡萄酒和白葡萄酒中都含有橡木的单宁。一些佳酿干白葡萄酒中就含有橡木的单宁----诸如谐同耐(chardonnay)葡萄酒----具有陈化的潜力。



当人们将葡萄酒饮入口中的时候,单宁会产生一种涩味和苦味。人们可以感觉得到这些味道,尽管不一定能品尝得到这些味道,因为它在人们的舌头上涂上像一层薄膜。单宁含量高的新酿葡萄酒可能过于苦涩,或者口感过干使人感到不够舒适。


单宁是重要的,因为它们具有与其它成份相互联结的趋势----在大多数情况下是与各种蛋白质联结。由于具有这种特性,其名称也就来源于此----在历史上,植物中的一系列单宁都是用来‘鞣制’皮革的。在传统的葡萄酒陈化模式里,各种单宁与葡萄酒中的其它成份粘接在一起,并与溶液分离开来,成为瓶底较重的沉淀物。其结果是使单宁变得醇香,但颜色有所改变(红葡萄酒的颜色变浅,而白葡萄酒的颜色则变褐),增加了葡萄酒风味和芳香的复杂性和细微差异。在陈化的过程中,白葡萄酒和红葡萄酒都会丧失一些葡萄浆果早熟的东西,而获得一些更微妙的特性。

单宁只是天平的一部分----要使葡萄酒好好地陈化,葡萄酒不仅仅需要有足够的单宁,还需要有酸度和葡萄浆果达到正确的平衡。如果没有足够的酸度,葡萄酒随着时间的推移就会崩溃,变得没有生气和混浊。如果没有足够的葡萄浆果,葡萄酒就会逐渐软化变质到乏味。如果达到了正确的平衡,随着时间的推移,单宁所产生的结果是复杂性良好的葡萄酒可以经过几十年的陈化,逐渐显现出越来越微妙的葡萄酒风味。

 

更多葡萄酒小贴士:

 

(版权声明:转载时请以超链接形式标明文章原始出处:http://www.chichaku.com)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Wine tips - tannin: the structure and foundation of the great wines

red_wine_portrait_1

There are few things as important to a great red wine as tannin. It is tannin that makes a full-bodied red so full-bodied; it is well-balanced tannin that brings forth the flavor; and it is exceptional tannin that allows the highest-quality red and white wines to improve over long periods of time.

Tannin is introduced to wine from one of two main sources: the grapes themselves, or oak. Grape tannin is found in red wine – it comes from the skins, seeds, and stems of the grapes. Grape tannin is generally a softer tannin than oak tannin, but a larger amount is generally given to red wines. It is this tannin that allows wines such as cabernet sauvignon and pinot noir to age and mature in bottle.

Oak tannin is found in both red and white wines which have been aged in oak barrels. Oak tannin is what gives certain great dry white wines – such as chardonnay – their aging potential.

 

In the mouth, tannins create an astringency and bitterness. They can be felt, even if they can’t be tasted, as a sort of coating on the tongue. Young wines with high levels of tannin may be overly bitter, or unpleasantly drying to the mouth.

Tannins are important because they have a tendency to link up with other things – most often proteins. It’s this characteristic that gives them their name – a range of tannins from plants were historically used to ‘tan’ leather. In the traditional model of wine aging, these tannins bind with other elements of the wine and fall out of solution, becoming a heavier sediment in the bottom of the bottle. This results in a mellowing of the tannins, a change in color (a lightening in red wines, a browning in white wines), and added complexity and nuance to the flavor and aromas of the wine. White and red wines both tend to lose some of their fruit-forwardness, gaining more subtle characteristics as they age.

Tannin is only one part of the equation – in order to age well a wine must have not only ample tannin, but also the correct balance of acid and fruit. Without enough acid, the wine will tend to fall apart over time, becoming limp and dull. Without enough fruit the wine will be softened to the point where it has very little flavor. With the correct balance, though, tannin can result in beautifully complex wines that age for decades, revealing more and more subtle flavors over time.

 

More wine tips: