探索世界的奇酷

简体中文

加入酵母,啤酒诞生

 

BB BeerBasics Ferment1 small

发酵空间始终是酒厂需要考虑的问题;例如在密尔沃基酿酒公司(Milwaukee Brewing),不久就会有更多的贮酒池建设到这三个池子的旁边。

作者: Stephen Beaumont

 

过蒸煮后,加了酒花的麦芽汁会被注入到一个热交换器中;在那里,它将被冷却到适于发酵的温度。这一步很关键,因为温度高的话酵母会被烫死。(在现代制冷技术出现前,麦芽汁会被暴露在空气中,自然冷却到合适的温度。但这当然也容易受到空气中细菌、野生酵母和其他微生物的污染。)


冷却完毕后,这些液体会被转移到发酵罐中,加入酵母进行发酵。

在加了酒花的麦芽汁中,顶部的发酵酵母菌工作的最佳温度是15-25 ºC/50-77 ºF,因此它们有时也被称为热发酵酵母,也叫淡色啤酒酵母。底部的酵母通常在较低温度即5-10 ºC/41-50 ºF时能更好地发挥作用,因而也被称为冷发酵酵母或储藏啤酒酵母。(参见酵母—发酵的必备元素)。

 

BB BeerBasics Ferment2 small

多伦多的溪鸣啤酒厂(Steam Whistle Brewing)设在一座老建筑中,它必须利用好发酵区的每一点空间。

发酵指的是酵母消耗可发酵的糖,并排出二氧化碳——即啤酒中的气泡——和酒精的过程。尽管所有啤酒酵母都会发酵,但每种酵母所能产生风味和香气都有所不同。一般来说,顶部发酵酵母能产生更多水果的味道,而底部发酵酵母产生的口味会更清淡些。

初次发酵(或主发酵)一般需要两三天或更长的时间;这要取决于酒花麦芽汁中糖份的多少。主发酵完成后,就会在原容器或其他容器中进行二次发酵;这个阶段被称作调节性发酵或储藏发酵。这个过程通常需要两到六个星期,啤酒的口味会逐渐变得圆润。一些啤酒厂还会人为地将加快这一过程,从而缩短发酵的天数;尤其是那种口味比较浓郁的啤酒,它们可能需要几个月的时间。通常情况下,储藏啤酒比淡色啤酒发酵的时间更长。

 

相关阅读:

 

 

(版权声明: 本文未经授权许可,任何单位及个人不得转载、摘编或以其它方式使用。)

Discover the world in your own language!

English

Yeast is added and a beer is born

 

BB BeerBasics Ferment1 small

Fermentation space is always an issue at an expanding brewery like Milwaukee Brewing, where new tanks were about to be added to these three.

By: Stephen Beaumont

 

After the boil, the hopped wort is sent to a heat exchanger, where it will be cooled to a temperature suitable for fermentation. This is an essential step, since yeast added to boiling hot liquid will simply die. (Prior to the introduction of modern refrigeration technology, wort had to be sat out and exposed to the air in order for it to cool to a suitable temperature, which of course exposed it also to airborne bacteria, wild yeast and other microflora and made it open to possible infection.)

 

Once cooled and transferred to the fermenter, yeast will be added and fermentation begun.


Top-fermenting yeasts will work best when they are added to the hopped wort at warmer temperatures, normally between 15-25 ºC/50-77 ºF, hence the reason they are sometimes also known as warm-fermenting yeasts, or simply ale yeasts. Bottom fermenting yeasts function better at cooler temperatures, typically between 5-10 ºC/41-50 ºF, which is why they are also known as cool-fermenting yeasts or lager yeasts. (See What’s in a Beer: Yeast.)

 

BB BeerBasics Ferment2 small

Housed in a heritage building, Toronto’s Steam Whistle Brewing must make efficient use of every square meter for fermentation.

Fermentation is the process during which yeast consumes fermentable sugars and expels carbon dioxide – the bubbles in beer – and alcohol. While all brewer’s yeasts will do this, each will also contribute different flavour and aroma characteristics to the beer, with top-fermenting yeasts generally yielding fruitier tastes and bottom-fermenting yeasts usually contributing leaner, more streamlines flavour profiles.

 

Initial, or primary fermentation will generally take from two or three to several days, depending on how much sugar is contained in the hopped wort. Once primary fermentation has completed, the beer will undergo what is called secondary fermentation, or sometimes conditioning or lagering, which may take place in the same vessel or a different one. This process, during which the flavours of the beer will harmonize and mellow, will normally take from two to six weeks, although some breweries will speed through this step in a matter of days and others, especially in the case of very strong beers, might continue it for months. Normally, lagers require significantly longer periods of conditioning than do ales.

 

See also: